top of page

Iron Bridge Academy

The Home of the Grey Griffins

By Derek Benz & J.S. Lewis

Welcome to the Grey Griffins

The "Grey Griffins" series, co-authored by Derek Benz and J.S. Lewis, is a best-selling children's fantasy saga that plunges readers into the enchanting world of the Grey Griffins, a group of four young friends named Max Sumner, Ernie Tweeny, Natalia Romanov, and Harley Eisenstein. These friends find themselves embroiled in extraordinary adventures after discovering an ancient book of magic, which leads them into a battle against dark forces threatening their world. Set in the fictional town of Avalon, Minnesota, the series starts with "The Revenge of the Shadow King" and follows the Griffins as they encounter magical creatures, navigate through mystical realms, and harness their own powers and courage to defend the world from evil. The blend of mythology, magic, technology, and mystery, along with the strong themes of friendship, bravery, and the battle between good and evil, makes the "Grey Griffins" series a thrilling read for middle-grade readers and fantasy enthusiasts alike.


The Grey Griffin Adventures

Below are the current adventures of Max Sumner and his Grey Griffin friends. All available on

bottom of page